The Last Two 185 Series Trains Still Active for Spring Seasonal Services to Izu and Gunma

185 series Odoriko

The final two sets of the Japan National Railways (JNR) model ‘185 series’ trains, remaining in service with JR East, will be operating as seasonal trains in various areas of the Kanto region from March 1 to June 30.

The scheduled trains include the limited express ‘Ashikaga Fuji New Shinjuku’, ‘Ashikaga Fuji Yoshikawaminami’, ‘185’, ‘Toge no Yokokawa Night Park’, ‘Tanigawadake Mole’, and ‘Tanigawadake Loop’, totaling six services.

The ‘Ashikaga Fuji New Shinjuku’ will run between Shinjuku and Ashikaga stations on April 19 & 26, the ‘Ashikaga Fuji Yoshikawaminami’ between Yoshikawaminami and Ashikaga stations on April 20 & 27, the ‘185’ between Yokohama and Izukyu-Shimoda stations on April 13, May 18, June 29, and between Yokohama and Ito stations on March 27, April 24, May 29, June 12, the ‘Toge no Yokokawa Night Park’ between Omiya and Yokokawa stations on March 30, and the ‘Tanigawadake Mole’ and ‘Tanigawadake Loop’ between Omiya and Echigo-Yuzawa stations on May 25 & 26, June 1 & 2, 8 & 9, 15 & 16. All trains will be 6-car formations with reserved seating only.

The 185 series debuted in 1981 and is known as the “last JNR-type limited express in the metropolitan area”. The trains withdrew from regular service with the timetable revision in March 2021, and as of January this year, only formations C1 and B6, each comprising 6 cars, remain in operation as part of the reserve fleet. The C1 formation is painted in the livery of the ‘Shinkansen Relay’ service that operated during the 1980s.

This article was generated using automatic translation by GPT-4 API.
The translation may not be accurate.