Bulgaria and Romania to Partially Join the Schengen Agreement, Eliminating Checks at Air and Sea Borders from March 31

Bucharest Airport

Bulgaria and Romania have announced their partial participation in the Schengen Agreement starting March 31.

This participation will eliminate border checks for movement between member countries by air and sea. For land borders, a decision on the elimination of checks will be made at an appropriate time in the future. The decision for Bulgaria and Romania to join the Schengen Agreement was unanimously made at a council meeting held in Brussels, Belgium, on December 30.

The Schengen Agreement facilitates free movement within the territories of its member countries. It was initiated in 1985 as an intergovernmental project by France, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg. Currently, it covers 27 countries, approximately 4 million square kilometers, and a population of about 420 million people. This expansion of the Schengen Agreement marks its ninth, with preparations also being made for Cyprus’s accession.

This article was generated using automatic translation by GPT-4 API.
The translation may not be accurate.