JR West to Introduce More N700S Units, Convert N700 Series to 8-Car Trains, and Retire Four 500 Series Sets

N700S J0

JR West will introduce additional N700S units to the Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen lines and convert the 16-car N700 series to 8-car formations.

Four sets of N700S will be introduced from 2024 to 2026. Compared to the N700 series, the N700S features improved ATC and braking systems, reducing braking distance by 5% in the event of an earthquake. It is also equipped with a battery self-propulsion system, enabling it to move to a place of safety even during prolonged power outages. All seats are equipped with power outlets for mobile devices, and six wheelchair spaces are provided. The N700S also consumes 7% less power than the N700 series.

The N700 series being converted to 8-car formations will undergo modification works to enhance functionality. These modification works will be carried out at the Hakata Comprehensive Vehicle Depot from 2024 to 2026, adding four wheelchair spaces.

As a result of the modification works to convert the N700 series to 8-car formations, four of the six 500 series sets will be retired by the end of fiscal year 2026.

This article was generated using automatic translation by GPT-4 API.
The translation may not be accurate.